28 September 2011

PLA Awards

This year PLA of offering nine awards/grants designed to highlight the best in public library service and to honor those bringing innovation, creativity, and dedication to public libraries. Nominate your colleagues or libraries for one of the nine awards before December 1, 2011.

  • Allie Beth Martin Award, honoring a public librarian who has demonstrated extraordinary range and depth of knowledge about books or other library materials and has the distinguished ability to share that knowledge. Sponsored by Baker & Taylor.

  • Baker & Taylor Entertainment Audio Music/Video Product Award, promoting the development of a circulating audio music/video collection in a public library.

  • Charlie Robinson Award, honoring a public library director who, over a period of seven years, has been a risk taker, an innovator, and/or a change agent in a public library. Sponsored by Baker & Taylor.

  • DEMCO New Leaders Travel Grant, enhancing the professional development of new public librarians by making possible their attendance at major professional development activities.

  • EBSCO Excellence in Small and/or Rural Library Service Award, honoring a public library serving a population of 10,000 or less that demonstrates excellence of service to its community.

  • Gordon M. Conable Award, honoring a public library staff member, library trustee, or public library that has demonstrated a commitment to intellectual freedom and the Library Bill of Rights. Sponsored by Library Systems & Services LLC.

  • Highsmith Library Innovation Award, recognizing a public library’s innovative and creative service program to the community.

  • Polaris Innovation in Technology John Iliff Award, honoring a library worker, librarian, or library that has used technology as a tool to improve services.

  • Romance Writers of America Library Grant, providing a public library the opportunity to build or expand its romance fiction collection and/or host romance fiction programming.

    The PLA Award Nomination Form is open until Dec. 1, 2011. An award jury appointed by the PLA President will review each nomination. Winners will be announced in February 2012. Awards will be presented at the ALA 2012 Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif. For more information, contact the PLA office, (800) 545-2433, ext. 5PLA or by email pla@ala.org.
  • No comments: